Home » Tata Steel Chess India Championship: R Vaishali Ruled Out of Event, To be Replaced by Divya Deshmukh

Tata Steel Chess India Championship: R Vaishali Ruled Out of Event, To be Replaced by Divya Deshmukh

by admin
0 comment

Published By: Vivek Ganapathy

Last Updated: August 29, 2023, 16:22 IST

Kolkata [Calcutta], India

Chess Representational Image. (Twitter)

Due to unforeseen circumstances, Vaishali R, the elder sister of teenage sensation Praggnanandhaa, will not be part of the tournament scheduled to be played in Kolkata. WGM Deshmukh is set to replace the 22-year-old.

Woman Grandmaster (WGM) M R Vaishali, who is the elder sister of India’s latest chess sensation R Praggnanandhaa, was on Tuesday ruled out of the upcoming Tata Steel Chess India championship slated to be held from Thursday.

Vaishali, who played a key role towards Praggnanandhaa becoming the youngest World Cup runner-up at 18, will be replaced by WGM Divya Deshmukh, a former national champion and member of the FIDE Online Chess Olympiad team in 2020.

”Due to unforeseen circumstances, Vaishali R won’t be able to participate, but we’re excited to welcome Divya Deshmukh to the tournament! Let’s cheer for Divya,” the organisers said.

ALSO READ| Igor Stimac Names 23-member Indian Men’s Football Squad for 49th King’s Cup, Sunil Chhetri Rested

Vaishali was initially named in the star-studded women’s lineup that boasts Chinese duo of Wenjun Ju — the reigning World champion — and runner-up Tingjie Lei.

There is however no change to the women’s field that also includes Anna Ushenina of Ukraine, the winner of Tata Steel Chess India Rapid 2022 and Irina Krush, the only American woman GM.

The Indian lineup has Koneru Humpy, Harika Dronavalli, Savitha Shri and Vantika Agarwal.

ALSO READ| WWE RAW Results: Damian Priest Beats Sami Zayn, The New Day Takes on The Viking Raiders

The Open category which will begin on September 4 will be headlined by Praggnanandhaa who will be joined by the trio of D Gukesh, Vidit Gujrathi, and Arjun Erigaisi who are fresh from their World Cup quarters appearances.

The overseas participants in the Open field will have Maxime Vachier-Lagrave of France, (World Blitz Champion 2021), Alexander Grischuk of Russia, Teymour Radjabov of Azerbaijan (World Cup Winner 2019), Nodirbek Abdusattorov of Uzbekistan (World Rapid Champion 2021) and Vincent Keymer of Germany (runner-up at World Rapid Championship).

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed – PTI)

You may also like

All Right Reserved. @sportztalks

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?