Home » Australia’s ICC Men’s ODI World Cup Wins: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 and Now 2023

Australia’s ICC Men’s ODI World Cup Wins: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 and Now 2023

by admin
0 comment

Australia won ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 (AP)

Australia won their sixth ICC Cricket World Cup, adding 2023 to their list in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015.

Australia defeated India in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 final by 6 wickets to record their sixth World Cup win, having won the title in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015 as well.

Follow all the action from the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 including the World Cup scheduleWorld Cup 2023 results, and ICC Cricket World Cup points table. Players are vying to top the World Cup 2023 Most Runs and World Cup 2023 Most Wickets charts. 

Here are the six World Cup titles that Australia have won:

Travis Head’s 137 was the decisive knock of the low-scoring final in front of a heavily pro-Indian crowd inside the 132,000-capacity Narendra Modi Stadium. Head combined with Marnus Labuschagne (58 not out) in a 192-run partnership to chase down India’s modest target of 241.

The Indians had won all 10 of their matches before the final and were seeking a third trophy in their fourth appearance in a title match that brought a country of 1.4 billion people to a virtual standstill.

They were outplayed in every department by Australia, though, restricted to 240 all out on a slow pitch after losing the toss with only Virat Kohli (54) and Lokesh Rahul (66) making half-centuries.

Head became only the seventh player to score a century in a men’s World Cup final – and third Australian after Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist – and delivered a significant moment in India’s innings when taking a diving catch running back from cover to remove captain Rohit Sharma (47).

Head’s ton saw him join an illustrious list, which also comprises West Indies’ Clive Lloyd and Viv Richards, as well as Sri Lanka’s Aravinda de Silva and Mahela Jayawardene.

ALSO READ | 20 World Cup Titles! Australian Cricket Teams Extend Dominant Run in ICC WC Events

It was not Head who hit the winning runs but the honour fell to Glenn Maxwell, as he did, the Australian cricketers stormed the field, rushing past their disconsolate Indian opponents.

Rahul sank to his knees, while Mohammed Siraj was in tears after the sad end to their remarkable run in the tournament.

Kohli, who was adjudged player of the tournament for leading the run charts, sported a vacant look like most of his teammates.

(With inputs from Agencies)

You may also like

All Right Reserved. @sportztalks

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?